Authors, DON’T Make This Mistake!

error-63628_640

I told myself to do it.  It was in the back of my mind, trying to claw its way forward and screaming for my attention.

I ignored it.

Today I had the pleasure of hearing an author speak at one of the local libraries.  I’d never been to one of these shindigs before, but I pretty much knew what to expect.  “Self,” I said, “chances are, you might have the opportunity to talk about your work with other authors or potential readers.  Print up some business cards, Self!  Go on!  Do it!”  I didn’t do it.  I figured since this was a first-time experience that I was going just to listen, not to network.  BAD FIGURING.

Every opportunity is an opportunity to network.  As an author, you have a business, self-published or traditional.  If you want people to read your work, you need to promote your work, online and in person.  Don’t be like me. Don’t miss an opportunity, because yes, I had two people ask me if I had a card.  That was two potential sales!  I felt like such a classic fool, stumbling over my words, cursing myself as I explained…no, I don’t have a card…b-b-but, I should!  Pfft.  Shoulda, coulda, woulda.  

Next time, I will.

Have you ever missed a great opportunity like this and kicked yourself later for it?  Tell me all about it in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

