I’ve Written Horror, but I’m Not a Horror Author

flowers-209144_640

Oh, Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood!

This is something that has been a worry in the back of my mind ever since I wrote my three horror stories over a year ago.  I want to be known as a middle-grade fantasy author.  I have no aspirations to be the next Stephen King.  Well, I don’t want to be the next J.K. Rowling, either…I want to be the next S.E. Eaton, and slowly, she is being made, formed through her written words, unique in voice, branded as her very own person.   But, I digress.  Middle-grade and young adult are my true passions.  “Belinda”, however, does and will have a few darker themes, though similar to Harry Potter, the darkness is a light shade of gray-ish white, to start, and will darken as the series continues.

I don’t want any of my readers who loath horror to get turned off from my writing.  Belinda will be teeming with hope, light, and goodness, and although the darkness will have its place, as it does in any epic fantasy, it will not ultimately win….

or will it?  (…Can’t give you spoilers!)

Anyway, really, so far I’ve written in a variety of genres.  “The Voiceless” is sci-fi/dystopian, “The Bus” is literary fiction, “Roses and Weeds” is a dark fantasy/fable, and one of my current projects is a romance.  And “Belinda Starr”, of course, is middle-grade fantasy.  I’m stretching my writing muscles, seeing what y’all like best.  If “Compulse” does well, I may write more horror, or I may not.  But I will never write just horror.  I won’t let my career path venture off in that direction.

If you don’t like horror, consider giving one of my other stories a read.  Let me know what you think.  It would mean the world to me.  🙂

2 thoughts on “I’ve Written Horror, but I’m Not a Horror Author

Leave a Reply

